The beginning…

All it takes is 1 thing. 1 thing that inspires you… to make a change. Gandhi said “We have to be the change we want to see”, so here I am – making a change.

I guess introductions are in order, I’m Jenn, 35, from Long Island, NY. I have 2 sons and a wife..oh yeah, I’m gay. I was raised in upstate NY and moved to Long Island when I was 17 for college. We have cats, live in a suburban center-hall colonial, I’m on the PTA, and I was looking for something new…

10 months ago I joined Twitter…and while this, in and of itself, isn’t any great accomplishment it has opened my eyes. I’ve learned about new people, places, organizations, world cultures but also have unfortunately seen a lot of hate. The truth is I joined Twitter in a completely vapid and frivolous attempt at learning more about my favorite celebrities. I am more than a “fan girl”, although my roots define me as much sometimes. But as I tweet to television stars, Broadway hopefuls, politicians and social activists … I see the negativity they receive on a daily basis. It’s sickening. It needs to stop.

As the world we live in becomes more intertwined with social media – we see less of people in real life and more of their words in texts&tweets. My words are my own, and I try to type them as I would say them…with kindness. I have been saying since my first weeks on Twitter that it is it’s anonymity that falsely allows it’s users to tweet without filters. Would people really say to the person next to them half of the things they tweet to complete strangers? I hope not. I want to “pay it forward”; I want MY (Everyone’s) Twitter experience to be a positive one… don’t spread hate, respect yourself enough to respect others, it’s okay to butt heads, but don’t BE a butt-head. Your words have power, whether you believe it or not…someone is listening, somewhere. People want to make their mark on this world…make it for something good and meaningful.

I’m stepping off my mini soap box… My future posts will range in topics from television shows, celebrities I follow, the latest shenanigans of my sons, being a gay mom, social activism, or whatever else pisses me off enough to write about ;p

Life is a series of detours, just keep driving…and enjoy the journey.

About labgal99

I'm a mother to 2 beautiful boys & a wife to a fantastic lady. I love good food, drinks, and friends. I believe in honesty, equality, and kindness. The most important thing you can do for yourself is live an authentic life >>I hope this blog will help me do that more.
This entry was posted in entertainment, social media and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

