Parting is such sweet sorrow

As my Twitter experience continues I am learning life lessons… even in my mid-30’s I can learn from others, and about myself. What I think is most important about learning is taking the information and using it in a meaningful and productive way.

People have often said that life is just like a continuation of high school, I tend to agree.  There will always be cliques, and they are observed in EVERY age group.  In my life it has served me well to be in the middle of social circles…I’m never the “leader of the pack” nor the “underdog”. I have always gotten along with everyone because I feel it is important to listen to both sides and not to make judgements. As I have stated before, I try to tweet as I would speak –with kindness.

You may wonder why I am writing this blog… I became part of a social circle, that even before my joining was starting to fracture.  I don’t follow a lot of people on Twitter, because as a whole, I hadn’t planned on making friends… so it has come as a surprise to me that I have invested myself (emotionally, physically and financially) in people who I only hear from in 140 characters or less. But at my core I cannot stand to see people hurt one another…and I’ve seen it happening within this group. In the effort to stay as non-partisan as possible I have adopted the 3 Musketeer’s motto of “All for one, and one for all”.  As this nucleus divides I wish not to be on a side nor caught in the middle, I choose to remove myself from the equation completely.

I unfollowed people who I have had conversations with, exchanged Christmas cards with, sent letters & packages too…and I can tell you –I shed tears. I didn’t expect to cry, even now as I type this my eyes are welling up, but it’s again with a heavy heart that I do this for my own sanity and self-preservation. Publicly I apologize to Anna, Zara, Donna, Becky, Margarida and Amelie… I don’t want to pick sides and I don’t want to watch any of you do it either. I think you are all lovely, and if you are ever in NY I will totally buy you a drink.

Doing what you know to be true for you is more important than everyone loving or agreeing with you.

— Yehuda Berg (@yehudaberg)

Whether people follow or don’t follow me..I speak my truth. I am honest with myself, and because of that I can be honest with you.

About labgal99

I'm a mother to 2 beautiful boys & a wife to a fantastic lady. I love good food, drinks, and friends. I believe in honesty, equality, and kindness. The most important thing you can do for yourself is live an authentic life >>I hope this blog will help me do that more.
Aside | This entry was posted in social media. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

